To content

Department of Physics

The Department of Physics combines excellent research in four main areas with a modern and future-oriented teaching concept. In addition to the classic Bachelor Physics and Master Physics programs, the department offers a Bachelor's program in Medical Physics and, together with the Ruhr University Bochum, a Master's program in Medical Physics. Furthermore, the department participates in the education of prospective teachers, and offers physics courses as a minor subject.

The department started teaching in 1970 with a diploma course. In research, the initial focus was on solid-state physics and particle physics; in 1985, accelerator physics was added, which is involved in the Dortmund Electron Storage Ring DELTA and the Center for Synchrotron Radiation. Since 2015, the department has been expanding its interdisciplinary focus on medical physics. The Department of Physics is strongly committed to the promotion of its students and scientific staff. In addition to a catalog of very concrete support measures, the department facilitates international exchange, e.g. within the framework of Erasmus or through the existing scientific networks.